College Council

The Melba College School Council is responsible, within the framework of Victorian Government policy guidelines, for the educational policies of the college, the use of school buildings, the employment of ancillary staff and all financial matters.


A close working relationship between the School Council, teaching and support staff assists in promoting collaborative decision making and problem solving.


Membership of the School Council is representative of the groups affected by Council policies - parents, teachers, students, and where desired, community members.  Councillors are elected annually in March according to Department of Education and Training (DET) guidelines.


The Melba College School Council consists of:

Six parent representatives

Zach Wilson – President

Michael Weuffen – Vice President

Anne Hay

Jessica Ward

Lenice Harvey

Bernie Goulding


Five DET representatives

Aaron Sykes - Principal

Matthew Lee

Jason McCrae

Michelle Lockhart


Liz Ogston - Minute Taker


Student representatives

Anna Setford

Harriett Edwards


Community representatives





The School Council meets each month, and any member of the school community is invited to attend.


Special sub-committees of the School Council include:

Education - policies and programs
Resource and Finance
Buildings and Grounds


School Councillors can be contacted via email: